The Bitchy Resting Face

BRF

Many times over the course of my life I have often been told that I’m a rather intimidating person when people first meet me. I have always been rather surprised by this but I do admit I have “my moments when my first impressions of people have been rather strained and I do tend to be a bit aloof but generally I think that I’m a nice person.

During a dinner for a friends birthday last night, I was told the same thing again. One of my good friends said that when she first met me she thought that I was a complete bitch, this after only meeting her for like 5 mins. Out of curiosity I asked her what it was about our first encounter was it that gave her that impression and apparently I have a rather well know syndrome called a Bitchy Resting Face. For the life of me I didn’t have a clue what that was so, so of course, I headed straight for google to figure it out. According to the Urban Dictionary a Bitchy Resting Face means, “A bitchy alternative to the usual blank look most people have. This is a condition affecting the facial muscles, suffered by millions of women worldwide. People suffering from bitchy resting face (BRF) have the tendency look hostile and/or judgmental at rest. Their expression does not necessarily reflect how they are feeling inside. BRF can ruin friendships and first impressions, start fights and kill an atmosphere.”

In other words I look hellaciously upset a lot…when, in all fairness, I’m generally thinking about 50 other things at the time and not really focused on the situation at hand and I look like I’m channeling Wednesday Adams. But then another friend chimed in and said that I had a very expressive face and she could immediately tell when I was not impressed with a situation. Which is something that my hubby has pointed out to me on numerous occasions. But I’m really not the bitch that my face portrays, most of the time, granted every women is allowed to have her moments of “Hell hath no fury.” But these momentary lapses in character can apparently now be cured!

There is now a surgery that fixes bitch face syndrome. The procedure, which is currently being done by plastic surgeons in Korea, cuts into the corners of your mouth to make your lips appear fuller, and make it look as though you’re smiling even when you’re not. At what point did this become such a world wide problem that you can have surgery to fix your expression?

Every women out there has this issue in their lives, single moms. working moms and even the henpecked SAHM find themselves having a moment of complete random bitch face so surely they have the sense to realize that maybe, just maybe, this person is actually not even thinking about them and is probably a very nice person deep down…. really deep down.

So, I’m just going to embrace my inner Wednesday Adams and let my BRF roar, because life is to short and a first impression can be changed if that person is important enough to you or visa versa, it just takes a little effort to see beyond the seething mask of the raging storm! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Bitchy Resting Face

  1. So many people have said that they can relate to this. I think that we are so intent on getting to the next task or catching the next taxi that we often don’t think what kind of attitude we are portraying to the outside world!

Leave a Reply

