RIP my friend!

untitled

“Death leaves a heartache no one can heal, love leaves a memory no one can steal.
From an Irish headstone”
Richard Puz, The Carolinian    

To our beautiful friend, in the stark morning light I am still struggling with the reality that you are truly gone. Last night we heard the terrible news that you had passed away in a car accident. It is the first time in a long time that I cried myself to sleep.

As I tried to come to terms with the fact that we would never hear your laugh or listen to your diving stories, it dawned upon me that you had spent your last few years living your dream. And that reminded me of all our adventures in the desert and how you were the life of the party!

And while our pain may be to hard to express I hate to think of the pain that your family are experiencing at the moment. To the Wilkinson family, her parents and extended family members, we are truly sorry for your loss. Wilna impacted all our lives profoundly, words seem to fail me at the worst of times but she was a humble soul who would sacrifice her shirt off her back for her friends. We were all blessed to have had her in our lives. Wilna took the very first pictures of my son at the tender age of 4 hours old. She captured special moments of our young family. She took me on my first diving experience, it may not have gone as well as planned, but it is an experience I will never forget!

This is not goodbye Maatjie, we will see you soon again, in my heart I know you are at peace and every day you will be able to watch that Karoo sunset that you loved so much!

All the love in the world.

Nicky, Julian & Daniel!

5 thoughts on “RIP my friend!

Leave a Reply

